Gary and Nancy Tuckfelt
Keeping Tabs: A Holocaust Sculpture

Be strong, and may we be strengthened

A place of contemplation, of revelation, of meditation.


A place for Holocaust education, where students create learning materials, research stories of individual lives lost, and own this piece of the world and Jewish history.

 

A place to bring each new generation that grows farther from history closer to its lessons.

 

A place where visitors can see what one teacher inspired his students to accomplish, and what one community accomplished by working together.'

 

 

On the campus of Community Day School, Gary and Nancy Tuckfelt Keeping Tabs: A Holocaust Sculpture commemorates each and every one of the approximately six million Jewish lives that were lost in the Holocaust. Keeping Tabs is a maze in the shape of the Star of David, constructed of glass blocks collected and counted by CDS students, each tab representing a human life lost at the hands of the Nazis.

 

The sculpture reminds us to “keep tabs on our humanity”. As we teach our students at Community Day School, when there is inhumanity in the world, that is the time to be an "upstander." An "upstander," in contrast to a bystander, is someone who acts to confront prejudice and injustice and does their part to make the world a better place. 

 

Want to know more about the Keeping Tabs sculpture project? Click here to download our introductory presentation.


For more information or to schedule a tour, contact keepingtabs@comday.org.

 

For more photos and current news, visit our Facebook page.


Upcoming Events

IMPACT testing - 7th Grade
Wed, 31 Aug 2016
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM

CDS Farm StandRecurring Event
Wed, 31 Aug 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

6th Grade Moving Up
Thu, 01 Sep 2016
All Day Event

All-School Kabbalat Shabbat and Spirit Day
Fri, 02 Sep 2016
8:00 AM - 8:43 AM

NO SCHOOL - Labor Day
Mon, 05 Sep 2016
All Day Event

PA Back to School Blast
Mon, 05 Sep 2016
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM

TechShop (Gr. 1-3)Recurring Event
Tue, 06 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

Odyssey of the Mind MS TeamRecurring Event
Wed, 07 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

CDS Farm StandRecurring Event
Wed, 07 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

3rd to 8th Grade Percussion EnsembleRecurring Event
Thu, 08 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

Odyssey of the Mind IS TeamRecurring Event
Mon, 12 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

TechShop (Gr. 1-3)Recurring Event
Tue, 13 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

Back to School Night
Tue, 13 Sep 2016
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Odyssey of the Mind MS TeamRecurring Event
Wed, 14 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

CDS Farm StandRecurring Event
Wed, 14 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

3rd to 8th Grade Percussion EnsembleRecurring Event
Thu, 15 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

IGNITE Fest
Fri, 16 Sep 2016
All Day Event

Gates Testing
Mon, 19 Sep 2016
All Day Event

Odyssey of the Mind IS TeamRecurring Event
Mon, 19 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

Gates Testing
Tue, 20 Sep 2016
All Day Event

TechShop (Gr. 1-3)Recurring Event
Tue, 20 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

Gates Testing
Wed, 21 Sep 2016
All Day Event

Odyssey of the Mind MS TeamRecurring Event
Wed, 21 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

CDS Farm StandRecurring Event
Wed, 21 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

3rd to 8th Grade Percussion EnsembleRecurring Event
Thu, 22 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

Picture Day
Fri, 23 Sep 2016
All Day Event

Apples and Honey Festival
Sun, 25 Sep 2016
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Odyssey of the Mind IS TeamRecurring Event
Mon, 26 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

TechShop (Gr. 1-3)Recurring Event
Tue, 27 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

High School Information Morning
Wed, 28 Sep 2016
8:45 AM - 10:00 AM

Odyssey of the Mind MS TeamRecurring Event
Wed, 28 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

CDS Farm StandRecurring Event
Wed, 28 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

3rd to 8th Grade Percussion EnsembleRecurring Event
Thu, 29 Sep 2016
3:45 PM - 4:45 PM


More Events Print View

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Day School | 6424 Forward Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15217 | 412-521-1100 | info@comday.org

Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy